

Union des associations européennes de football

Media Release Communiqué aux médias **Medien-Mitteilung**



Officials announced for UEFA EURO 2008™ final tournament

No.

147

12 teams of officials selected as '17th team' at UEFA EURO 2008™

The UEFA Referees' Committee today announced the full line-up of referees, assistant referees and fourth officials that will make up the team of experienced match officials for next year's UEFA EURO 2008™ final tournament in Austria/Switzerland.

Twelve referees have been appointed to handle the 31 matches of the final tournament and will work together with 24 assistant referees in teams of so-called 'trios' of the same nationality. They are joined by eight appointed 4th officials. The teams of 'trios' are composed of referees and assistant referees from the same country and as a unit they have been active in UEFA competitions for the past year, mainly in the UEFA Champions League, and therefore have a good understanding of working together.

Chairman of the UEFA Referees' Committee, Angel María Villar Llona, said of the appointments:

"It is never easy to select the final list of names to officiate at a tournament as prestigious as the UEFA European Football Championship. However these officials are currently the best in the business at the moment and deserve their chance. The idea of appointing 'trios' began at UEFA EURO 2004™ as it enables the officials to work closely together in their own domestic competition and at UEFA level for a longer period of time before the tournament. We wish them all the very best in their appointments at UEFA EURO 2008™."

The ear-piece communications system between the officials, as currently used in top European matches, is also authorised for use at UEFA EURO 2008™ and should facilitate quick and efficient communication.

The 44 selected officials for UEFA EURO 2008™ will now begin their preparations in earnest and will attend a preparatory seminar in Switzerland from 14 - 17 April 2008 at the Mövenpick Hotel in Regensdorf, Switzerland, where they will take part in a physical test and be given specific instructions for the final tournament. From 3 June 2008 the Mövenpick Hotel, Regensdorf, will act as the base for the referee teams at UEFA EURO 2008™. From 26 June, those still involved in the tournament will move to the Renaissance Penta hotel in Vienna.

During the final tournament any injured referee will be replaced by the 4th official at the match, and any injured assistant referee will be replaced by a 5th official who will come from the list of assistant referees not officiating at a game on that day.

The officials will continue to officiate at European club competition matches but will not be appointed to any international friendlies concerning the 16 teams qualified for the final tournament.

Support for the team of officials will include a physio, a doctor, and a fitness coach who has devised a specific programme for the tournament.

> Route de Genève 46 CH-1260 Nvon 2 Tel. +41 848 04 27 27 Fax +41 22 707 28 38 media@uefa.ch uefa.com

For further information: UEFA Media Services: ++41 848 04 27 27

Referees, Assistant Referees and Fourth Officials appointed for UEFA EURO 2008™



	Referees	Assistant Referees	Country
1.	Konrad PLAUTZ	Egon BEREUTER	Austria
		Markus MAYR	
2.	Frank DE BLEECKERE	Peter HERMANS	Belgium
		Alex VERSTRAETEN	
3.	Howard WEBB	Darren CANN	England
		Mike MULLARKEY	
4.	Herbert FANDEL	Carsten KADACH	Germany
		Volker WEZEL	
5.	Kyros VASSARAS	Dimitris BOZATZIDIS	Greece
		Dimitris SARAIDARIS	
6.	Roberto ROSETTI	Alessandro GRISELLI	Italy
		Paolo CALCAGNO	
7.	Pieter VINK	Adriaan INIA	Netherlands
		Hans TEN HOOVE	
8.	Tom Henning OVREBO	Geir Åge HOLEN	Norway
		Erik RAESTAD	
	Lubos MICHEL	Roman SLYŠKO	Slovakia
9.		Martin BALKO	
	Manuel Enrique MEJUTO GONZALEZ	Juan Carlos YUSTE JIMENEZ	Spain
10.		Jesús CALVO GUADAMURO	
11.	Peter FRÖJDFELDT	Stefan WITTBERG	Sweden
		Henrik ANDRÉN	
		Matthias ARNET	
12.	Massimo BUSACCA		Switzerland
	Fourth Officials only	Stéphane CUHAT	
1.	Ivan BEBEK		Croatia
2.	Stéphane LANNOY		France
3.	Viktor KASSAI		Hungary
4.	Kristinn JAKOBSSON		Iceland
5.	Grzegorz GILEWSKI		Poland
6.	Olegario Manuel BARTOLO F. BENQUERENÇA		Portugal
7. 8.	Craig THOMSON Damir SKOMINA		Scotland Slovenia